What Happens to Your Body When You Skip Meals?

I’ve always thought that skipping meals was a bad thing, but it’s something I’ve struggled with my entire life. I guess I’m just not as hungry as most people, or maybe I just get too wrapped up in whatever I’m doing, but I would always find myself skipping about four meals a week. I wanted to find out how bad this really was, so I did some research.

At a glance, one study suggests that skipping a few meals a week might actually help you become healthier, if you reduce your calorie consumption. This one baffled me a little bit, but then it made more sense when I found out that the participants in this study were obese. I think it’s safe to say that the participants eating habits probably aren’t the healthiest and they may be consuming too many calories to begin with. In cutting back on their overall calorie consumption, they very likely could have been cutting out things that aren’t healthy (e.g. cheese and ice cream). The calorie cut resulted in an 8 percent weight loss and lower cholesterol and triglycerides.

Although this study makes it seem healthy to skip meals, I don’t see how it could be for anyone who isn’t already consuming too many calories per day. For me, I usually struggle to get anywhere above 1,200 calories. I know that sounds crazy, but I follow a vegan diet and I try to limit oil and bread – and I almost never eat sweets. You have to eat a lot of fruits and vegetables to reach 1,200 calories. So, if and when I decide to skip a meal, I’m probably not getting enough nutrition for the day. This is something that I have to constantly remind myself.

I’ve always had this meal skipping problem, even before I was vegan. But during that period, I would skip a meal and then eat more at the next meal to make up for it. I was interning as a paralegal in a busy office and I just wouldn’t stop ever stop for lunch; but then, I’d eat the equivalent of two meals for dinner. Now, I’ve found out that might actually be worse than not eating enough. Well, for one, I knew it wasn’t good because I was about 15 pounds overweight. But, one study actually found that following these exact eating habits can lead to elevated fasting glucose and delayed insulin response – two precursors to diabetes. I’m certainly glad that I stopped that habit, but I do still have to work on eating more often during the day. All this research made me curious about whether I was alone in my struggle.

Do you ever skip meals? If so, do you just end up eating less calories – or do you just make up for the loss later on?

Leave a Reply

